Book Review

Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn

I am not usually a fan of mysteries or crime novels, but I was blown away by this book. Dark Places is the first novel I’ve read by Gillian Flynn and now I am looking forward to reading more.

Dark Places follows Libby Day struggling through life after her family was massacred. A group called the kill club start to offer money to Libby to look further into the incident and she begins to have doubt about her brother’s conviction.

This book was so layered and suspenseful that I devoted it in one setting. Flynn is a master at creating reliability and sympathy for characters even when they may not deserve it. This ability kept me jumping from character to character trying to solve the riddle presented in this book. Even when I discovered an answer more questions were presented.

Dark Places from the start keeps you guessing at the edge of your seat. Gillian Flynn is  top notch story teller and so far the only crime writer I can enjoy. If you are looking for a suspense, thriller, or a mystery you will find all that and more with this book.

5/5 Stars

For more in the author: http://gillian-flynn.com/

One thought on “Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn

Leave a comment